The Triple Crown or the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is a series of three horse races which have been running for over a hundred years. All three of the horse races take place in the months of May and June every year. The Kentucky Derby is the first Triple Crown Race, the Preakness Stakes is the second Triple Crown Race and the Belmont Stakes is the third and final Triple Crown Race.

Only thoroughbred horses will be allowed to compete in the three Triple Crown races and every horse must be three years of age. These three horse races are the most famous horse races in the world and attract millions of spectators every single year. The goal of every thoroughbred horse owner is to have their horse compete in the Triple Crown races at the age of three.

Often you’ll find that a different horse will win each event because of the competition being so close together these days. The last time a horse has been able to win all three of the Triple Crown races in one year was in 1978 when the horse Affirmed completed the monstrous accomplishment. We’re going to take a look below at a little bit of information about each of the three race tracks that are apart of the Triple Crown.

• Kentucky Derby – 1-1/4 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

• Preakness Stakes – 1-3/16 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

• Belmont Stakes – 1-1/2 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

With all three of the races within a month roughly the horses in the events are really put to the test. With the horses only being three years old a lot of them don’t have very much experience racing yet. The Belmont Stakes which is the last Triple Crown Race is the longest dirt track for three year old thoroughbreds and is the most difficult race any of the horses will have faced.

There are lots of traditions that go along with the Triple Crown and the three races that comprise the series. You can view all of these by visiting our pages dedicated to each of the three races. In the United States there is also an annual event known as the Triple Tiara which used to be known as the Fillies Triple Crown. The series is three races just like the Triple Crown, but only fillies are allowed to race in the event. In the Triple Crown there are three horses allowed to race which include Fillies, Colts and Geldings. All three of the Tiara Crown Races are held at the Belmont Park Race Track although each of the races is different lengths.

A lot of other countries have their own Triple Crown in horse racing as well which are different then the American Triple Crown. The races aren’t that well known in the US, but they are well known in their respective countries. The other countries Triple Crown races don’t draw in as much media attention or money though.